skip navigation
Genesee Athletics

Women's Lacrosse Named NJCAA Academic Team of the Year

Women's Lacrosse Named NJCAA Academic Team of the Year

The Genesee Community College women's lacrosse program was recently recognized by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) as the Academic Team of the Year for 2014-2015. The teams with the top grade point average in each sport throughout the country earn the distinction of Team of the Year and a minimum of a 3.0 GPA is required to be considered.

The Cougars combined for a GPA of 3.10 to lead all women's lacrosse programs and earned the award for the second time in the last three years. Members of the program include: Kaci Asper, Raven Bentkowski, Marisa Carline, Ashley Crawford, Hannah Dominesey, Mina Horiuchi, Ashley Makowski, Christine McCoy, Maddie McDonagh, Taylor Miller, Kaleigh Murray, Nicole Niedzielski, Katya Oakes, Mariah Pepe, Maddie Potter, Lydia Rechlin, Emily Skehan, Kate Springsteen, Jamie Vink and Mackenzie Wood.

"We take great pride in our student athletes' performance in the classroom and this award is a tremendous accomplishment," said GCC Athletics Director Kristen Schuth. "I am very proud of our women's lacrosse team for their hard work and success in the classroom and on the field."

A total of 25 teams, 12 men's and 13 women's, were recognized as the Academic Team of the Year in each respective sport and an additional 566 programs received honorable mention recognition by assembling at least a 3.0 GPA for the year.